Those are my principles, and if you don’t like them… well, I have others.

One of my principles is that I don’t price cut. I’ll offer more work for the same money or less work for less money, but cut a price once and it’s expected every time. I will never cut prices – well almost never.

What about the valued customer who shows you a competitor’s quotation and says that the work is yours if you charge the same? Well, yes – if the opposition can do it for that money, then so can I.

Then there’s the client who asks if the price would be lower if they ordered three lots of work over the next three months? Well, yes, I can lower the price and I won’t complain when I have to wait 12 months for the work finally to arrive.

And finally, the expanding high profile business that flatters you with their interest. But a lower price now would help them out and give you a future advantage when they are bigger and more profitable. Look at it as an investment. Done! After all, it might just happen.

You have to set your own standards. But Groucho Marx was right:

Those are my principles, and if you don’t like them… well, I have others.”

Leave a Reply

