Being funny; I’m not being funny but ….; Funny ha-ha, not funny peculiar; That’s really not funny; Funny that

If you’ve ever told a joke that’s failed, you will know that being funny is a serious business. I am hopeless at telling jokes as I have no sense of timing and sometimes accidentally say the punch line before the line that builds up to it.

Funny” is a funny word, with it’s multiple meanings. I’ve only got to hear “I’m not being funny but ….” and I’m bracing myself for insult or criticism. Tell me that you’ve got this really funny gag and I secretly hope that I’ve heard it before, so I can laugh at the right moment. I was once baffled by a joke that involved a misunderstanding between “cold-sore” and “coleslaw”. I just waited for a pause and then said it was very clever; thankfully, I can no longer recall the joke but I remember that it wasn’t funny.

I’ve only known one person who admitted to not finding the obviously funny quite unfunny; sitting through the likes of One Foot in the …. and Only Fools and …. and genuinely wondering what everyone was laughing at. Sadly, I am at the other end of the scale and have been creased up by parts of You’ve Been Framed.

Whatever is funny at one time soon dates, but Jerry Seinfeld’s type of off-beat humour still reads ok. On clothing: “I once had a leather jacket that got ruined in the rain. Why does moisture ruin leather? Aren’t cows outside a lot of the time? When it’s raining, do cows go up to the farmhouse, “Let us in! We’re all wearing leather! Open the door! We’re going to ruin the whole outfit here!” But you might not find that funny.

Leave a Reply

